Coffee House Fiction
Congratulations to our Fall 2009 winners!
bottom banner


We're here to elevate great fiction and to advance talented writers. We understand the maddening challenge encountered by new writers. You can't get published because you haven't been published. An agent won't read what you've written. Marketing trumps talent.

Fiction is our pursuit. Your writing can be historical, fantastic, contemporary or futuristic. We don't care. Our only requirement is that it be disarming and original. We delight in your talent and take joy in promoting your genius.

  • Recent interview

  • Current contest ended January 31st, 2010. Results are now posted for the Fall 2009 contest. Check them out to see how the judges scored your entry.

  • If you'd like an entry critiqued, please email Coffee House Fiction.

  • Sherri Cook Woosley will be giving a talk on "6 Common Contest Mistakes" at the Bel Air, MD Barnes and Nobles on May 4, 2010. Please contact Sherri if you would like to have her speak to your group.

  • All critiques will be emailed or mailed by June 8th, 2010. If you have not received yours by then, please send us an email.

  • The judges will be taking a break from the contest for a short time. We will not be open to submissions until further notice, HOWEVER, our editing services will remain open and current.

  • MUD HOUSE Publishing is now on Facebook. Become a Fan!

To order a copy of the 2009 or 2010 Coffee House Fiction anthology click here. Please specify your shipping address and the number of copies at $9.95 plus $2.00 shipping. You can also find them on Amazon!

Click here to hear editor Sherri Cook Woosley read from the 2009 first-place story.

The Fifteenth Dame Lisbet Throckmorton Fiction Writing Contest


First Place
Second Place
Third Place
Fourth Place


5 copies
2 copies
1 copy
1 copy

Entry Deadline

Your entry must be postmarked by January 31, 2010.


The fee is $17 per entry

Why Coffeehouse Fiction?

Our passion is for fiction and the talented writers who make it dance on the page. Coffee House Fiction and the Dame Throckmorton contest are sponsored by Coffee House Fiction. After the contest, you own your story, and if you win, the prize, honor, and our accolades.

In organizing our contest, we are seeking to identify some exceptionally talented writers. Coffee House Fiction published its first anthology of the year's best short fiction in 2009. If we find your work remarkable, we may ask you if you'd consider being included in the next anthology planned for 2010.